Minutes of a meeting of the Worthing Council 5 April 2022 at 6.00 pm

Councillor Lionel Harman (Chairman) Councillor Richard Nowak (Vice-Chairman)

Councillor Noel Atkins Councillor Roy Barraclough Councillor Mike Barrett Councillor Ferdousi Henna Chowdhury **Councillor Russ Cochran** Councillor Rebecca Cooper Councillor Dan Coxhill Councillor Edward Crouch Councillor Jim Deen *Councillor Cathy Glynn-Davies Councillor Karen Harman **Councillor Margaret Howard Councillor Daniel Humphreys Councillor Charles James Councillor Kevin Jenkins** Councillor Martin McCabe Councillor Sean McDonald

Councillor Dr Heather Mercer *Councillor Richard Mulholland Councillor Louise Murphy Councillor Jon Roser Councillor Helen Silman **Councillor Dawn Smith Councillor Sally Smith** Councillor Robert Smytherman **Councillor Elizabeth Sparkes** Councillor Emma Taylor **Councillor Hazel Thorpe Councillor John Turley** *Councillor Nicola Waight *Councillor Steve Waight Councillor Carl Walker Councillor Vicki Wells **Councillor Rosey Whorlow** *Councillor Steve Wills

*Absent

C/75/21-22 Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Glynn-Davies, Mulholland, N Waight, S Waight and Wills.

C/76/21-22 Declarations of Interest

Members were invited to make any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests but no declarations were made.

C/77/21-22 Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Worthing

The Mayor informed Members that at the October Council meeting it had been agreed to convene a Special Council meeting to confer the title of Honorary Alderman, on former mayor Paul Baker.

The conferment of the title was proposed by Councillor Kevin Jenkins and seconded by Councillor Hazel Thorpe.

On a unanimous vote, it was

Resolved,

That the honour and title of Honorary Alderman for the Borough of Worthing be bestowed on Paul Baker in grateful recognition of his eminent and distinguished service rendered to Broadwater Ward, the Council and the Borough between 2016 and 2021, pursuant to Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972.

The Mayor presented Honorary Alderman Paul Baker with his scroll.

The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 6.12pm, it having commenced at 6.00pm.

Mayor